Lone Star Sounds: New music from Cale Tyson and more

Posted 8:35am on Saturday, Aug. 24, 2013

Musicians who come of age in North Texas never really leave.

Even if they move on to other places, there’s always something of home tucked inside their work. But that’s also true of those who stay in DFW to create music — there’s an unmistakable sound here, and these three recent releases — from country to soft-focus shoe-gaze rock — are strong evidence of that.

Cale Tyson, ‘High on Lonesome’

A double take is likely at some point during your first listen to Fort Worth-reared Cale Tyson’s debut EP. Nashville’s storied past perfumes every track, Brett Resnick’s pedal steel wails like a ghost in the shadows and Tyson’s spare, forceful tenor bends just like ol’ Hank Williams’ did — it’s enough to give a person goosebumps. Tyson relocated to Music City to pursue his passion — as many Texans before him have — and it’s hard to argue with the results of this self-produced effort. Opener Honky Tonk Moan is draped in echo, while the remaining tunes grab hold of yesteryear with both hands and drag it into the 21st century without sacrificing an ounce of grit. Keep an eye on this one.

Online: caletyson.net

Little Black Dress, ‘Dunes’ EP

Perhaps one of the more underrated rock bands in town, Dallas duo Little Black Dress needs only four tracks and about 15 minutes to make a considerable impression on its latest effort, Dunes. The twin engines of Toby Pipes and Nolan Thies, who produced as well as wrote each song here, evokes pure shoe-gaze gauziness, from the stunning first track, Lowered Lids, through to the wordless, wide-screen finale (which doubles as the title cut). Joined by drummer Earl Darling, flautist Sly5thAve, flugelhorn player Jay Jennings and background vocalist Denitia Odigie, Little Black Dress swirls, swoons and slips into beautiful oblivion.

Online: littleblackdressband.com

Oil Boom, ‘45 Revolutions Per Minute’ single

Before too much longer, it’s going to be tough to write about Oil Boom without devolving into a string of superlatives, glued together with exclamation points. The trio, spread between Dallas and Fort Worth, is sharp as ever on this new 7-inch single (following last year’s superb LP Gold Yeller). Lead cut 45 Revolutions Per Minute is note-perfect guitar snarl from Ryan Taylor, anchored by Steve Steward’s cataclysmic bass and the rumbling rhythms of Dugan Connors’ drum kit. B-side The Fiftease conjures visions of a sock hop soundtrack, but filtered through a knowing, modern sensibility. If this band has struck a wrong note yet, no one’s heard it. It’s one of the area’s most consistent, purely pleasurable performers.

Online: oilboomband.com

Preston Jones, 817-390-7713 Twitter: @prestonjones

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse, images, internet links or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?

Hey there. or join DFW.com. Your account. Log out.

Remember me