Home  >  Movies & TV

Screen Shots

Taking aim at the best and worst of movies and television.

3 DFW stations win national Edward R. Murrow Awards

Posted 3:35pm on Wednesday, Jun. 12, 2013

TV stations KXAS/Channel 5 and WFAA/Channel 8,and news-talk radio station KRLD/1080 AM have each won a 2013 National Edward R. Murrow Award. The awards, presented by the Radio Television Digital News Association, honor excellence in electronic broadcasting.

NBC 5 won in the Continuing Coverage category for “ Driven to Distraction,” a series of reports led by investigative reporter Scott Friedman covering distracted-driving dangers – including typing on a computer while driving – among North Texas police departments. The NBC 5 Investigates team collaborated with NBC Nightly News with Brian Williams to produce a national story about the original Dallas-Fort Worth reports. Besides Friedman, the investigation team consists of producer Eva Parks, researcher Shane Allen, photographer Peter Hull and NBC 5 senior manager of specials Shannon Hammel.

View more videos at: http://nbcdfw.com.

WFAA won in the Investigative Reporting category for “Denticaid,” Byron Harris’ stories on Medicaid dental abuse in Texas.

KRLD won in the radio Newscast category for KRLD Afternoon News. You can hear the winning entry, led with a follow-up report on the 2012 Lancaster tornado, here.

The awards will be presented Oct. 14 at the New York Marriott Marquis.

We welcome your comments on this story, but please be civil. Do not use profanity, hate speech, threats, personal abuse, images, internet links or any device to draw undue attention. Our policy requires those wishing to post here to use their real identity.

Our commenting policy | Facebook commenting FAQ | Why Facebook?

Hey there. or join DFW.com. Your account. Log out.

Remember me